Uncategorized

Wait For It…

The mood struck me so here we go:

“Wait and see” is one of the most asinine pieces of advice you can give someone. This is especially true when it comes to the media in large part because creators are often counting on a certain level of curiosity drawing you in. For example with the whole Ghost in the Shell fiasco, ‘waiting and seeing’ translates into just buying a ticket and deciding for yourself, which means you’re going to be spending your money on something you’re opposed to just on the faith that all evidence that it was harmful was wrong. The movie get’s your view, your cash, and your time, and (considering all the things I read about the plot) you get zilch.

When you wait and see for TV shows the same logic applies. The pilot episode get’s your view which is ultimately what they care about just as much (if not more) than what critics think. This is why there’s no sense in giving something a chance if you can see that all the decisions leading up to the final product are crap. The trouble is when it comes to things women, people of color, and queer people might find harmful there’s almost always this idea that we’re being irrational and just let it go. No one has suggested we just find out what the Emoji Movie is going to be like.

In fact, there were plenty of queer people and people of color criticizing Disney’s live action movie decisions (ie. Le Fou being “gay” in Beauty and the Beast) that were pretty much drowned out by the ‘wait for it’ crowd (and parents with no free will apparently) and as a result financially speaking they do well. However from what I’ve heard (because I refuse to watch Emma Watson play Belle when Gugu Mbatha-Raw exists) the gay representation we were told to give a chance was cheap and not worth the price of admission. Something I could have already figured out myself given Disney’s track record without giving money to a film I don’t support.

On top of all of the above bits of information, the idea that we have to give unearned chances to creators is not only a privilege, but it also reads as condescending. As if I don’t know what’s good for me until it’s spoon fed. I often mention the importance of being critical (even if [hell especially if] it’s something you love) because if you’re not you become less of an individual and more a series of phrases.

As usual stay informed, after all I love sharing my opinions not just to hear myself talk but to hopefully get you thinking so you can form your own. See you Friday for fiction!

*Also if you like my writing, or just want help a lady out I do have this:

paypal.me/tia55

On top of blogging you can find me on tumblr and twitter  and I even draw occasionally. Thanks 😁

 

Leave a Reply

