Monday Posts

Wonder Woman Of Course

Now I’m going to be completely honest here. I’ve read very few Wonder Woman comics. As I kid I watched DC cartoons and read some kids book versions of Diana’s origin story, but to this day I haven’t read that many of her serial runs. Despite that, the character Wonder Woman for me is still an inspiration and perhaps it’s because I’m a bit picky that I’m not quick to read just any old story (though I hear great things about Gail Simone’s run). I do recommend you read up on her creators and her history though, because it is fascinating.

9a1b2bd8e595c1c8ee497547dda53db5

Google search: Wonder Woman Comic

I believe 2010 is when I first started going to New York Comic Con (which will make this year 7 years!!!!) and I didn’t dress up then. I was in 10th grade and my dad surprised my sister and I with the tickets. Due to my dislike of crowds and the city I wasn’t sure what to expect, but the minute I got there I’d had way more fun than I could’ve anticipated. As awkward and geeky as I was I clearly fit right in, and I knew that next year I’d have to dress up.

My sewing skills are still subpar to this day, but back then I was definitely restricted to Party City and Party City only. Regardless of that fact, I couldn’t think of anyone I’d rather start my cosplay journey with than Wondy. My mom had the perfect wig and the costume came with everything. The only thing I had to fudge were the boots, because I’ve got big feet and while I was a size small costume the cheesy shoe covers that came with the suit did not work out.

Normally shy and not one to enjoy being the center of attention, dressed as Wonder Woman I felt pretty cool and was surprised to receive compliments and even have a few people wanted to take my picture. I was pretty much hooked. I dressed up as her again the next year when I’d had contacts and did a way better job with my makeup, and have since gone as Rogue (from X-men), Zatanna (Justice League), Cinderella (duh), and Harley Quinn (my girl). This year I’m going as the original Belle (you know how I feel about the new one) from Beauty and the Beast (village costume).

I don’t have many good Rogue pictures (it was pretty cheesy 😝)

I’ve still got a lot of growing to do, but I definitely owe a lot to Wonder Woman for being my first. I’m aware of the fact that some people have problems with the actress playing her, Gal Gadot, for political reasons and I don’t in anyway want to minimize that. Keeping that in mind I can’t help but be happy to finally see Diana Prince on the big screen and for little girls to get into Wonder Woman too. It’s been a long time coming for sure and I’m more than likely going to see it twice good or bad.

Regardless of how you know her or what your favorite version is I can’t think of a more deserving hero to grace the big screen. I might even write up a review after my second viewing. See you in June (and also Friday, maybe Wednesday)!!!!!!!!!!

landscape-1489502614-wonder-woman-new-poster

Google search: Wonder Woman movie

***Featured Image- Baby’s first cosplay (don’t ask where my glasses were)

Leave a Reply

