Wednesday Recommendations

Skin and Books and More TV

Not much of an intro today the title pretty much says it all. If you’re new here on Wednesdays I recommend things.

Skin: My skin isn’t 100% perfect but I have noticed a difference in this past year and I’ve got some recommendations there. Just a reminder I’ve got pretty big pores, a bit of an acne problem, and combination skin (meaning oily and at times it gets dry)-

Now (taken today) vs. Last Summer
  • Morning-
  1. Shea Moisture African Black Soap– It’s somewhat drying, but so far it’s been the best thing I’ve used for my face in my 22 years of living so…
  2. Shea Moisture Problem Skin Toner or Dickinson’s Original Witch Hazel– I’ve been using the witch hazel for about a week now but both seem to be just fine.  My nose cheek area is my most problematic so that improved a bit more from the Shea Moisture.
  3. CeraVe Facial Moisturizer (AM)– This has SPF in it so it doubles as a sunscreen, which is nice if you’ve got oily skin. Not much to say about it otherwise. When I wear makeup I also use Neutrogena Hydro boost (if I feel dry).
  • Night-
  1. Shea Moisture African Black Soap- same as the morning
  2. Shea Moisture toner/Dickinson’s Witch Hazel- same as morning
  3. CeraVe Facial Moisturizer (PM)– Yeah they’re different, as a general rule you shouldn’t put something with SPF in it on your face before you sleep.
  4. Tea Tree Oil– I’m also trying this out for the week. So far it doesn’t feel like much a difference has been made, but I’ve heard good things and it’s not hurting. I only put it on my acne. Too much is not good I try watering it down first.

Books/Comics: I’m starting some new books and comics too so I’ll have more to recommend next week but for now here’s literature and some pictures and webcomics-

  • Olympians series by George O’Connor– If you like Greek Mythology then this is a good series to grab. I’ve read Hades, Hera, Aphrodite, and Ares, but I plan to read the rest (don’t ask about the order tis what my library had/what interested me). His versions of the Gods and Goddesses is both informative and entertaining, Ares in particular does a good job at showing the utterly petty side of these deities as well as the emotional side.
  • Kim and Kim– I only read the first volume and what stood out to me (aside from the diversity) was all the color and the uniqueness of the world both titular Kim’s live in. I will say as fun as it is it’s not a story that spends too much time on the action, which depending on how you feel is a plus or minus. At it’s core it’s a story about two bounty hunters trying to pay their rent in a craptastick world.
  • Manly Guys Doing Manly Things– This is a webcomic I finally started reading yesterday and even though I’m admittedly not a gamer I still get most of the references. There are a few ‘arcs’ but overall it’s not really episodic and the strips stand alone. I personally like reading things in order from the beginning so there’s better pay off for the events that happen to the recurring characters that way.
  • Love Not Found– I recommended this before (but not on a popular post), but if you like cute fluff (pretty much the opposite of Manly Guys…) this is the webcomic for you.
  • The Black Brick Road– I’m a bit behind on this but it’s a pretty interesting take on the world of Oz. The characters are different and from what I remember Dorothy is the only person from the original story. It’s very visually interesting and sometimes interactive.

TV: Only one recommendation today, because I’m watching this as I type and it’s pretty funny-

  • Trial and Error– Granted the premise is pretty one season only, but honestly with all that’s on tv/netflix/hulu that’s okay with me. The cast is great and if you like murder mysteries but not so much the gritty film noir stuff this is for you. There is some macabre humor, but it’s an NBC comedy (think Parks and Rec and the town of Pawnee) at the end of the day. I’m just starting episode four on Hulu and the series is as far as I know comes on Tuesday nights.
Leave a Reply

