Uncategorized

Gamer?

This isn’t going to be long because I don’t have much to say on this topic from a personal perspective and have never received hate for this online. I don’t really consider myself to be a gamer. I’ve played Super Smash Bros. and Guitar Hero with my cousins when I was younger as well as some Just Dance on the Wii and a few My Sims games. I’ve also played the PC version of the Sims since the Sims 2 was out and recently purchased the Vampire game pack. About a year ago I started (but didn’t finish in part because of my laptop’s death) the telltale game The Wolf Among Us, because I knew the characters from the Fables comics.

Thinking this through made me recognize that I’ve played more video games than I realized, which is what got me thinking about why some games are taken more seriously than others. Sorry to be the one to remind you of this, but yes there is most likely a gender component to the issue, but there are way more qualified people than me to speak on that so for now you’re spared. Overall me not considering myself a gamer is just another form of imposter syndrome, which is basically when you think of yourself as not really smart or capable despite evidence to the contrary.

Games like the Sims don’t require a lot of strategy to be fair, but as my sister pointed out anytime I’m using a game cheat or manipulating the game to do what I want I’m kind of coding (hence the term ‘cheat code’). Also if you think designing and making houses on the Sims is easy and not a great creative outlet, you are sorely mistaken.

As a person who enjoys a story or the ability to customize and really get into to a character most popular video games involving first person shooting and the like don’t really interest me. This isn’t to bash people who do enjoy those things, but they’re not my cup of tea, and to be honest I’m still not sure my mainly Sim-ing makes me a gamer. However if you play games of any kind (including phone apps) and that’s how you choose to label yourselves go for it. Elitism in any community shouldn’t keep you from celebrating what you love doing.

See you tomorrow for Fiction Friday in 2 parts to make up for last week ✌🏽

*Image

Leave a Reply

