Uncategorized

Who will?

Disclimer: I think I’m going to post something else latter on in the week before Fiction Friday, but I wanted to get this out of the way.

I’m well aware that the posts I get the most likes on are fluffier, i.e. Cartoons and Adulting. However while I enjoy writing on those topics I’m not going to compromise who I am to appeal to others. I’m biracial, and I identify as such, or at times just as black. I’m a woman and I tend to keep my sexuality to myself, although I’m fairly open with talking about sex related topics. As early as fourth grade I’ve heard boys my age objectifying women (remember the Janet Jackson scandal) and saying vulgar things to me in a classroom. I’ve seen colorism negatively affect the girls I went to school with as early as fifth grade (I’m quite pale- the difference in treatment is obvious in hindsight).

To not write about those things would be to allow the status quo to remain unchanged. Even as I type this out I know this is an unpopular stance, particularly because I don’t have the backing of an online publisher. I’m just one person. Some people might even equate my sharing opinions and thoughts based off of my race and gender with those who choose to be bigoted. To that I would like to point out that hate speech is not something I practice and does not fall under the umbrella of the freedom of speech mantra a lot of hateful people know by heart.

To the point, as I move forward I just want it to be clear to anyone who follows me or stops by on occasion that I notice what’s liked and what’s ignored. I’m not going to stop being who I am, so if you’re here purely for the fluffy stuff just know that in my journey as a writer it’s not going to always be that way. Even my fictional characters aren’t compliant to societies standards so you’ve been warned.

Leave a Reply

