Uncategorized

Cartoons and Adulting

Last Thursday I went into the city and watched Suicide Squad with my friend and others, and while this isn’t a review of the movie I have to say that my favorite character was done well to me. That character being Dr. Harleen Quinzel aka Harley Quinn. Unlike most heroes and villains to hit the big screen in the past few years the good doctor’s first Batman appearance was in the cartoon. I didn’t appreciate it at the time, but looking back on it now the animated series was quite sophisticated and responsible for creating a character that has reached iconic status.

Cartoons in general have always been a love of mine, and they go unnoticed simply because they’re seen as just for kids. Of course shows like Bob’s Burgers and the Simpson’s exist for a more grown up audience, and Japanese anime exists in almost every genre for every age group. Then there are shows that while meant for kids like Steven Universe are extremely sophisticated and well thought out.

For a time I thought that getting older meant I’d have to put all of that aside, but I’ve found that instead I’ve gained more respect for the hard work and attention to detail that animators put into the shows I loved as a kid and now as a 21 year old. Long story short, if it works for you growing up can be as simple as understanding something differently as opposed to throwing it all away.

Leave a Reply

