Uncategorized

Walking With Confidence

To begin, I have to warn you that I’m not an expert on high self esteem, nor am I a licensed therapist. That being said, I do know one thing for sure: walking tall and walking fast is power.

As a woman one of things I’m conscious of is how people perceive me in public places. Part of that is some social anxiety, but the other part of it is acknowledging that women really do get stalked and followed for looking like easy targets. That’s why the best peace of advice I can give to help you feel safe in public is to always walk like you know where you’re going. Keep an eye on your surroundings, but try to look ahead of you as often as possible. Put your shoulders back and forget anyone who ever told you to smile even when you felt like crap. If you’ve got legs that move, use em’ and don’t stop until you’ve reached your destination.

I can’t say for sure why this works, however I know that I get bothered much less when I don’t for a moment give the other person a chance to catch me off guard. Obviously standing tall and moving quickly isn’t full proof as plenty of fast walking women in the city still get harassed, but it’s important to remember none the less. You belong on this planet so you should navigate the earth like you own the place. A moving target is always harder to catch.

Leave a Reply

